wouldn’t live anywhere else

What beautiful weather! I am so amazed by the first day of the fall season. What a joy. In California we have “seasons” just not extreme season (barring the long summer). I enjoy that a lot. And I guess we do pay for it somehow. Cost of housing and insurance is remarkably high for a place where people have a poor sense of community and sometimes are plain unfriendly.

Makes gospel ministry difficult, which it should be, but I still wish I wasn’t so hard for neighbors to talk with one another. I often wonder if Grace Community Church would be a different type of church if in another state or perhaps another city. California is pretty much the only state I could live in though. As a Filipino in Oregon I received racist comments in a McDonalds less than a year ago. So though California is expensive, people are sometimes cold-hearted, and summer is hot I love it enough to live here. I am thankful my parents decided to immigrate to Southern California! Lisa and I have often said, if not we don’t live in California we’d be more interested in a different country (maybe for missions soon).

Bible Study was great last night, focusing on the Cross and really what it is impact needs to be in the life of a Christian. I think we often think of the cross and important symbol for the unbeliever. But as mature believers we need to the cross just as much. I love that emphasis recently, especially because we are so good at understanding Lordship in our community. Often we can become like the Galatians looking for visible outward signs of obedience when really the Cross of Christ is the rock. Our focus on the externals is a huge source of discouragement and doubt for all. We need to rely on the Cross!

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

