I really like the piano

Today on my way to work I was doing a whole lot of thinking. It’s so good to think in the morning, especially because you get a fresh start that the day and your thoughts aren’t laden with yesterday’s hard issues. Unless of course they were showstoppers.

I was thinking much about the piano. Last night I was listening to some good tunes appreciating what the piano brings to a recording and to a live sound. So then I decided that Cason Cooley is the finest contemporary piano/keyboard guy. His piano and keyboard work is thrilling. It’s never the rhythm instrument and he doesn’t even play crazy difficult fills. Just complimentary stuff. I’m sure he’s good enough to play the rhythm, and I’m sure it’d be fun for him to get noticed a little more but he doesn’t. He just adds the perfect amount of piano.

The Normals song, “The Best I Can” illustrates best what I am talking about. I can send you a link to a legal copy of it so you can enjoy it throughly. Cason rocks on that one.

Piano should compliment the guitar work.

Piano players please don’t be haters. I’m married to a wonderful pianist. I know many good pianists. It just doesn’t really fit into music I listen to as the main rhythm instrument. Just complimentary.

Well I’ve got a few other thoughts, maybe you’ll get them later.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

