After Practice Pickup Game

So after Troy and I got done practicing we decided to play a little of the newest game in my small sports game collection for PS2. We played ESPN NBA 2K5 a fanatastic game that released one week ago for only $19.99 or $14.99 at Best Buy. I was the Lakers, he was the Mavericks. After giving him a little bit of instructions the game was on and I dominated early. But I guess maybe he was just warming up. My pick and roll game was working to perfection with Vlade going 10-11, being most effective running it with Kobe. Now, that was great. My lineup is a little unconventional, but my plays are the simple. The 2 or 3 picks up the ball and then calls for a pick on the side where my center is positioned. Vlade, my center will usually come out, and depending on the pick I’ll drive the hoop or dish inside, depending on the defensive switch.

In case you were curious, my line up is as follows–

  • PG: Luke Walton (I’ll explain)
  • SG: Kobe
  • SF: Caron Butler
  • PF: Odom
  • C: Vlade
  • Luke Walton has a lot of skill with the ball, and he poses quite the match up problem for other guards, the only thing is that he gets ripped in a trap situation. Which is ok, because Kobe or Odom handle the ball mostly. Chucky Atkins is not good enough to be in the game as the point guard. On defense, Mr. Butler handles the PG and Luke Walton switches to the SF (which is his natural position and he doesn’t get burned because he’s fast enough to guard the SF spot)

    Back to the action. So Troy starts shooting ties the game in the 4th. With 15 seconds left we’re tied and Mr. Kobe has the ball, and I call for a pick and pull up for the wide open three-pointer. Nails! With only 1.1 to go I win the game.

    After the first game he helped me put some groceries away and take out the trash and then played a second game.

    I was the Lakers and he was the Kings. He dominated me… How could Doug Christie hit a 40 foot 3 point shot? I have no clue. Oh well.

    You’re thinking, gosh Clyde’s obsessed with gaming. Not really, I just love basketball and we’re about 3 weeks from the start of the season. This will be a very exciting Lakers squad.

    About clydeblogs
    I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

    Leave a Reply

