Books

Reading is fun. Last night was the first time I’ve read something other than the Bible and the newspaper in over a month. It’s a little difficult when things have been turned upsidedown our little precious Claire. I guess I feel like I should be doing stuff around the house, helping my wonderful wife or something rather than enjoy a good book.

I read a bit in “DL Moody on Spiritual Leadership” by Steve Miller who put together some of Mr. Moody’s best thoughts about the bible and leadership. It was great to read about holiness. Steve Miller begins with a statement. “I do not want to have an impact in the world at all.” That is a shocking claim, especially as a Christian. Why would a Christian want to have an impact? That is against the greatest commandment and against the great comission. Oftentimes the way we live our lives minimizes our impact to the point we have none at all, or at worst, a negative impact.

It was a great challenge. You’ll have to read it to get it… So buy it! 🙂 Just keep in perspective that holiness isn’t the thing the God causes us to strive for in-and-of ourselves. God desires that we would see our weakness and bring honor to Christ’s sacrifice and glorify the cross. Pursuit of holiness apart from understanding that we can’t be holy apart from Christ is an empty heart breaking pursuit. If you have the wrong perspective on this you will be miserable and depressed. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.

Among other book news, I finished, “A Farewell to Arms” by Ernest Hemmingway. He is a crazy good writer. I wish I read more when I was younger. Maybe Claire will be a reader. Especially since we won’t have TV.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

