bible study last night

Music was weird. I’ve decided it’s good to practice on Monday and play on Tuesday, because things are fresh. But I personally need to pick out the songs a few days in advance and practice singing them a lot. Perhaps I’ll record a scratch guitar track and try to sing over it without a guitar in my hands. (Maybe that’ll justify me getting some better speakers for my computer). I guess that’s missing the point. I really need to practice singing.

As I sat down after finishing up the music, I noticed that I didn’t have a mobile phone in my pocket. I knew that I had left it on in the normal mode, not on vibrate and I thought maybe it was up on the music stand. A very bad place for a cell phone were it to ring during the message. I remembered I specifically did not want to turn it off, because Claire was being babysat by our parents at home.  So I just sat there, thinking it was on the music stand, hoping it wouldn’t ring (most of my friends are either at bible study or know that bible study is going on at that time.)

Somewhere during point two, my phone begins to ring, very very loudly (because I raised the volume on the train because it was too low with all of the train noise). I scrambled to find the phone to eliminate that terrible distraction… And as I walk up to the front (becoming a worse distraction) I realize the phone isn’t there and it’s still ringing!!! I’m terribly embarrassed, because it’s on the back table!

I am a fool, and I still missed the call.

It wasn’t our parents, but rather my good friend who I knew was calling from his mobile phone in Chicago. I spoke to him and his wife was having an emergency at home and he was thousands of miles away without a way to help her.

He asked me a call another mutual friend to assist her and I did.

Thankfully I was able to put it out of my mind for enough time to get back into the message.

It was good re-thinking redemption. The text was Ephesians 1:7. Joey Penberthy was teaching…

   1. The Person of Redemption. It is only through Christ and Him alone! He gave a good illustration about people who are non-Christians who will actually try to explain to God that figured that they had their own way to him. Like they’re going to tell the almighty God of Glory that they kinda thought they’d be ok. Amazing and frightening to think that we have a message that will save and give people the confidence to say to God that His Son Jesus Christ is all they need.

   2. The Price of Redemption. The blood of Jesus Christ

   3. The Prize of Redemption. (I missed this one while I wrapping up my phone interruption)

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

