back home

For my “regular” visitors to the Clyde:Blog you will know that Lisa, Claire and I were on a short vacation, er trip, to the bay area.  I hesitate labeling it a vacation, since the word vacation is a synonym to the word intermission which Merriam-Webster would describe as

2 a : a scheduled period during which activity (as of a court or school) is suspended b : a period of exemption from work granted to an employee for rest and relaxation

This trip was indeed a “scheduled period during which activity is suspended”, but some would argue that this employee did not always have “rest.” Readers may refer to the September 10 post but to make sure I am not overstating the truth, we actually had a very easy time with Claire on Saturday evening. She went down in her pack ‘n play without much trouble, and as I can recall we had 6 hours of consecutive slumber.

On Sunday we enjoyed a leisurely drive home, which started from our hotel (which I must say was fabulous) at around 10:00 am. We traveled on to Highway 1, which features a very picturesque ocean and mountain views at every stretch and bend. We stopped in Carmel-by-the-Sea (if the city is called, “Carmel-by-the-Sea” perhaps my town should be called “Saugus-by-the-Extremely Dry Hill” or maybe “Santa Clarita-with-a-plethora-of-Franchises”) for lunch and window-shopping. It our first visit to Carmel-by-the-Sea and we loved it.As usual, as travelers who return home from their journeys, either succinct or extended, it was good to be back home. And verily we still are not yet home.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

