top 25 most played

This may interest some, definitely not all.  I was scrolling through my iPod the other day, looking at the auto-generated Top 25 Most Played playlist and thought it’d be interesting to know what others are often selecting in their audio libraries.  It’s strange, but I was surprised at the list myself, some of the songs listed aren’t even considered a favorite.   I don’t know why I buy new albums, as you can see I listen to only one or two.  This post is embarrassing.

So here’s mine, if you’d like to post your own, 

This may interest some, definitely not all.  I was scrolling through my iPod the other day, looking at the auto-generated Top 25 Most Played playlist and thought it’d be interesting to know what others are often selecting in their audio libraries.  It’s strange, but I was surprised at the list myself, some of the songs listed aren’t even considered a favorite.   I don’t know why I buy new albums, as you can see I listen to only one or two.  This post is embarrassing.

 

So here’s mine, if you’d like to post your own, 

  1. I Want a Broken Heart, by Derek Webb.  Why is it at the top?  Well apparently it is my favorite song.  I do really like this one both musically and lyrically.   
  2. Better Than Wine, by Derek Webb.  It’s after …Broken Heart so maybe that’s why it’s number two.  Again, musically it is so good, and the lyrics are thought-provoking.  It’s  a love song written from husband to a wife.
  3. I’ll Be Home Soon, by the Normals.   A nice mellow feeling-kinda-quiet tune.
  4. Romeo on the Radio, by the Normals.  Another love song… kind of repetitive chorus, which is typical of an Andrew Osenga song.
  5. What is Not Love, by Derek Webb.  Yes, another Derek song.
  6. Gypsy Flat Road, by Sandra McCracken. Love the bridge for this song, “What was incurable desperate blindness // Has been bound-up from all sides with lovingkindness // Comfort for sorrow, rivers for dryness // Come and drink you who have now money //” 
  7. Springtime Indiana, by Sandra McCracken.   Just Sandra and the acoustic. In her words: A lovesong, of course. Written while driving. Six verses about having nothing to say…
  8. Early in the Morning, by Andrew Osenga.  “The writing of this song lasted about an hour. One of those brilliant flashes of light that can never come often enough, and never do. A late mid-July night that was threatening to turn into an early mid-July morning gave me the idea, based very roughly on the form of John Steinbeck’s ‘The Pastures of Heaven.’ The form was his idea, but the guts of the song is a lesson I’ve been learning more and more in my early days of fatherhood. This life is passing, and it is too beautiful and deep for us to waste it. This is a modified acoustic version of the track that will go on my next record.” <NOTE: If interested you can download this tune for free – here>
  9. Medication, by Derek Webb.  Surprised to see a Derek Webb song?
  10. Lover Part 2, by Derek Webb.  Lover Part 2 is a response to the song Lover from Derek’s album, “She Must and Shall Go Free”.  The original Lover is Derek’s first song written specifically about Jesus.  The song Lover is from the perspective of Jesus.  Lover Part 2 is our response to the original song. 
  11. Mary Picked the Roses, by Andrew Peterson.  The lyrics were penned by Rich Mullins, but never recorded before his tragic death.  The song is all about Jesus, how He is the author of all things. 
  12. Lonely People, by Jars of Clay.  I’m beginning to think there are a lot of glitches here.  I don’t even like this song!
  13. Hello Old Friends, by Rich Mullins.  Rich was a great-songwriter.  Amazingly honest.
  14. My Glorious Hope, by Sovereign Grace Music.  I’m not a huge fan of the way this was recorded, but the lyrics are good…
  15. The Strong, the Tempted and the Weak, by Derek Webb.  Believe it or not, another Derek tune.
  16. Reputation, by Derek Webb.  Written after an “argument” between a husband and a wife.
  17. I Repent, by Derek Webb.  The record company probably hated this title, actually the American church probably hates this title.
  18. Nothing is Ever Enough, by Derek Webb.  About leaving Caedmon’s Call.
  19. Tomorrow is a Long Time, by Nickel Creek.  Penned originally by Bob Dylan.  A nice mellow love song.
  20. Family Name, by Sandra McCracken.   
  21. By Your Side, by Sandra McCracken.
  22. No More Faith, by Andrew Peterson.  Title sounds weird, but this song is about how in heaven we’ll no longer need faith.  Faith and hope will be fully realized, only love will remain.
  23. Clocks, by Coldplay.  I downloaded it because I thought it was cool… Haven’t listened to it in some time now…
  24. Ballad in Plain Red, by Derek Webb.   An 8-bar blues tune.
  25. Now and Then, by Sandra McCracken.  BGVs provided by Derek Webb.

I am very surprised because I thought listened to Andy Osenga’s stuff the most, but my iPod does not think so… I wish I could say my device was biased.  <NOTE: But then again, how could it like Derek Webb more than yours truly?>

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

One Response to top 25 most played

  1. Pingback: the mystery « clydeblogs

Leave a Reply

