rough week

Last week was a week that I would consider a challenging period of time. Thankfully it seems like all has been mostly resolved, and today, all things considered I am very aware of God’s sovereign hand, working through the struggles I faced.

Lessons learned:

  • Patience, I really should trust in God’s timing, knowing that He controls all
  • Clear communication, how I should relate and communicate with fellow neighbors
  • Humility, how I really don’t know what I’m doing at all
  • Pride, see above, just add, “…but I really think I know what I’m doing”
  • Conflict resolution, how to clearly communicate after an offense

I mentioned how thankful I was to a friend we were talking with yesterday on the way into church, and he said something that I will not forget. After I had mentioned some of the struggles I had, he said, “It kind of makes church a refuge in these times.” Yes, indeed. It is remarkable to think that while a believer’s struggles in life are real, and I would like to re-iterate this point, struggles are real, they have substance, and they are indeed difficult to bear, but we have a refuge.

Our refuge is Jesus Christ, and what a great refuge He is.

Psalm 57:1 (NJKV)

Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me!
For my soul trusts in You;
And in the shadow of Your wings I will make my refuge,
Until these calamities have passed by.

Now having recently read 1 Samuel and in the process of reading 2 Samuel, I find this difficult to even quote, since I am by no means like David, who was running for his life from my father-in-law and the reigning king of Israel. Yet, I know that if God cares for the sparrow, He offers me the same comfort David experienced hiding from Saul in a cave. The refuge that is Jesus Christ extends to us also through the church, where we find our brothers and sisters who remind us clearly of God’s goodness.

I’m thankful that I can experience the kindness of God, even my small difficulties are met with this bountiful grace.

Some highlights from last week would include:

  • Seeing the inner workings of Pecadillo’s 2nd Favorite Place in the World.
  • A reminder of how nice it is to work less than 30 miles away from home
  • Seeing my wife and daughter get very excited trying to choose the perfect pumpkins, only to find that I didn’t have enough cash to purchase all 3 of them. That was the sad part.
  • Witnessing the wedding of an old friend
  • Hearing songs from Derek Webb’s new album, called “Mockingbird” at the Master’s College Saturday. This will be a very very very serious industry changing, provocative record. I really cannot wait.
About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

