the way i really see it (pt. 2)

# 1 If it’s not what I’m used to it is wrong

Response:  This is mostly a personal pride issue.  Sometimes I assume without much thought or effort that if something isn’t typical it might be wrong.  It’s mostly just me buying into the world’s thoughtless system, which sadly has crept into my life and the church.  All too often I decide first and then think next.  

If I have the Scripture in my heart and fresh in my mind, I can, by the Spirit’s enabling, avoid this attitude.  

Psalm 19:7

The law of the LORD is perfect,

reviving the soul;

the testimony of the LORD is sure,

making wise the simple

# 2 If they don’t agree with me they must be a liberal

Response:  This was an observation I had mostly about what our culture classifies as liberal or whatever.  I’d consider myself a conservative when it comes to politics, which I think is a reference to the way the I would usually interpret the Constitution of the United States of America.  Correct me if I’m wrong.

The observation is that I believe many people in a the Christian community will throw terms around like liberal or conservative when referring to one’s interpretation of the U.S. Constitution and the Scriptures.  The odd thing is that they are not equal.  One who would “liberally” interpret the Constitution is not always one who would “liberally” interpret the Scriptures.  

Example:  A believer who cares for the poor in the world, cares for social justice, etc would be mis-titled by many evangelicals as a “liberal”.  The truth of the matter is that this one who does care for the poor of the world is actually more of the conservative!

Luke 6:27-36

27 “But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you. 29 To one who strikes you on the cheek, offer the other also, and from one who takes away your cloak do not withhold your tunic either. 30 Give to everyone who begs from you, and from one who takes away your goods do not demand them back. 31 And as you wish that others would do to you, do so to them.

32 If you love those who love you, what benefit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them. 33 And if you do good to those who do good to you, what benefit is that to you? For even sinners do the same. 34 And if you lend to those from whom you expect to receive, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners, to get back the same amount. 35 But love your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return, and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, for he is kind to the ungrateful and the evil. 36 Be merciful, even as your Father is merciful.”

# 3 Not giving to a beggar is actually more helpful, since my greed will help stir up this man/woman’s desire to find a job

Response:  Sadly, my greed has clouded my judgment.  Read the words of our Lord.

Luke 6:30 Give to everyone who begs from you, and from one who takes away your goods do not demand them back.  

# 4 It is ok to take liberty with God’s clear commands, much like a lawyer who is interpreting a contract

Response:  “Well, but…” is usually a clue of an incorrect response to anything that is written in the Bible.  When your mind thinks that, you can clue in to the fact that your heart is not interested in obeying God.

#5 Service is pleasing to God as long as it is done well, even if I am not walking in the Spirit and have a hard-heart  

Response:  There is a right way to stack a chair and there is a wrong way to stack a chair.  The end result may look the same in either case, but the heart of the one stacking the chair is the most important.  If you’re more concerned about how things look on the outside, and you forget that God wants your heart, you are serving in a manner that displeases God.  Check your heart!

“Has the LORD as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices,
as in obeying the voice of the LORD?
Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice,
and to listen than the fat of rams.
For rebellion is as the sin of divination,
and presumption is as iniquity and idolatry.”

# 6 I think that a “liberal” as related social issues is equal to a “liberal” as related to theological issues.  

Response: See the reference #1

# 7 Outside is equal to inside

Response:  

Mark 7:1-8

1 Now when the Pharisees gathered to him, with some of the scribes who had come from Jerusalem, 2 they saw that some of his disciples ate with hands that were defiled, that is, unwashed. 3 (For the Pharisees and all the Jews do not eat unless they wash their hands, holding to the tradition of the elders, 4 and when they come from the marketplace, they do not eat unless they wash. And there are many other traditions that they observe, such as the washing of cups and pots and copper vessels and dining couches.) 5 And the Pharisees and the scribes asked him, “Why do your disciples not walk according to the tradition of the elders, but eat with defiled hands?” 6 And he said to them, “Well did Isaiah prophesy of you hypocrites, as it is written,

   “‘This people honors me with their lips,
but their heart is far from me;
7 in vain do they worship me,
teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’

8 You leave the commandment of God and hold to the tradition of men.”

# 8 It is ok for me to practice attitudes of moral superiority to those in the world.

Response:  Mark 9:35 “If anyone would be first, he must be last of all and servant of all.”  We should keep in mind that as believers, all of our goodness comes through Jesus’ sacrifice, not on our higher level of living.

# 9 Love all, except for bad drivers, criminals and restaurant employees who serve without a smile.

Response:

Matthew 22:36-40

36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” 37 Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39A nd the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

