Sweet frames

What sweet frames do you trust in? I’ve wondered these things before, but it recently came to mind because of something a friend wrote.

What are these frames? William B. Bradbury wrote of them in 1863 in the familiar song “The Solid Rock”–

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

By definition a frame is, “a plan or a construct”. Frames are useful and wonderful things, and frames are a necessary starting point. Perhaps in life a frame for you is your spouse, children, church, spiritual disciplines or small group. These are good and sweet things.

But sometimes we hope in these things instead of in Jesus. We have expectations or desires that can only be fulfilled in Christ that we want to be fulfilled in these sweet frames. We trust in frames to satisfy us. But frames in their greatest state disappoint, they’re not perfect.

We need the frames, they can be blessings from God to us. They can enrich our love of Jesus. We can treasure him more through them. But do not hope in them. Lean on Jesus’ name and his blood and righteousness. “AND HE WHO BELIEVES IN HIM WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.” Romans 9:33 (NASB)

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

One Response to Sweet frames

  1. Daniela says:

    You know, I’ve always thought about that line every time I sing it, but because I’m horribly forgetful, to my shame I’ve never gone back to find out exactly what it implies/means. And it’s one of my favorite hymns too. Thanks, Clyde!

Leave a Reply

