Each Moment

ClockThis morning I had to adjust to a new schedule, and some new earphones. On the way to the ‘clink’ I was reminded of Andrew Osenga’s song, “Early in the Morning”, a song I have loved for a long while. [And apparently N.D. Wilson liked it as well]

It’s written in a form where each verse is a snippet of a story that ties in to the climax at the end. Like Dylan or the hymn-writers, there is no chorus, and this is balanced by long interludes between stanzas to let the images sink in. I love the flow, each verse builds on the last. [As a bonus, the song is set in the early hours of the morning which I’ve learned to appreciate.]

“Early in the morning, time still flies–minutes, hours lost as treasures”

How true is that line? And this particular line is a great foreshadowing to the crescendo–

These days they are a river
That we’re all floating down
Every loved-one, every neighbor
In Tennessee and my home town
So let us NOT take this for granted
Let us not waste this second hand
Let your love rage like a lion
and let your heart break like a lamb

After four minutes and forty seconds we’re led to what this song is all about–time. All earth-dwellers are governed by time. Time is not a resource that is unlimited [Hebrews 9:27]. I love the powerful imagery of the “second hand”. This great song-writing is a beautiful instrument of profound truth, the reminder that each moment is precious and should be used with great care. Written down, it seems obvious, but in this song, the message really sticks. I’m grateful for that.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

