Grateful

What a week of brilliant Spring weather. The mornings have been cool, afternoons warm and the evenings cool just like the mornings. At home, we have been preparing for the rooms and dusting off the equipment for the little one. At work, I have been making good progress on a project though it came at the expense of some others. Despite that I am grateful.

Tonight Claire is spending the night at her friend’s which marks the first time she has been away.

Here she is with her bag all ready to go–

We will miss our girl tonight, but this provided time to hang with Evan. Our night included Lamppost Pizza (the best in town, though perhaps not better than this, we’ll see).

Olives all over with mushrooms on half and sausage on the other half.

Evan is retrieving something.

This!

I love these two!

What else is going on? Too much to write about. I have really enjoyed this exhortation from Erik Raymond, cautioning us to be careful when using the Old Testament, “Our temptation is to jump into the passage with our Christological-veins bulging and neglect the original context. We parachute into the passage, take a quick look around, and then look for the quickest vine out of town into the New Testament. And who could criticize this? After all, you are preaching Christ. Right?”

Having read that, I am still very encouraged by the refocusing on the whole counsel of God. We ignore Jesus when we don’t teach him from the Old Testament.

And more thoughts on this here from Dr. Carson and Dr. Keller.

My friend and a mentor gives me something good to think about. Reminding me how to count others as more important than myself. “Our lack of grace to others cannot be fixed with tighter rules or frequent reminders or whipping ourselves into a guilt-frenzy because we blew it again. If we want to show more grace, then we must worship God more, in particular, we must worship the Word made flesh.”

Now back to Tarzan and this yummy mango frozen treat.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

