Perhaps the hymnal is wrong (may it never be!)

Kevin DeYoung gives us some helpful thoughts about Memorial Day. Under point five, patriotism can be good, the church is not a good place for patriotism.

We should pray for service men and women in our congregations. We should pray for the President. We should pray for the just cause to triumph over the evil one. We are not moral relativists. We do not believe just because all people are sinners and all nations are sinful that no person or no nation can be more righteous or more wicked than another. God may be on America’s side in some (not all) her endeavors.

But please think twice before putting on a Star Spangled gala in church this Sunday. I love to hear the national anthem and “God Bless America” and “My Country, Tis of Thee,” but not in church where the nations gather to worship the King of all peoples.

You ought to read the whole thing. I appreciate Kevin’s excellent balance and commitment to the Scriptures.

Even if they’re in our hymnal, there’s not a good place for them in our worship service.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

One Response to Perhaps the hymnal is wrong (may it never be!)

  1. Daniela says:

    Excellent.

Leave a Reply

