Waiting

This evening, Claire, Evan and I accompanied Lisa on a trip to the grocery store. We needed just a few additional items in support of the Children’s Hunger Fund Foodpak drive that our church is involved in, along with that we needed some things in support of life itself. Lisa is trying to make things easy for us while she’s recovering and adjusting to the birth of Eliza.

Though it is not uncommon in a lot of homes, my wife takes great care of us. Our home is clean, clothes have been laundered and now some easy food items are in the refrigerator. And while these things may not be unique, I have to say I am very grateful and I am uniquely blessed to have her as a partner.

My friend Sean encouraged me to read John Piper’s book, Brothers, We Are Not Professionals and I’ve enjoyed it immensely. In the 29th chapter entitled, “Brothers, Love Your Wives” he draws implications from Ephesians 5, one is that “a husband and wife should pursue their own joy in the joy of each other.” I seek to live this way, and yet through Lisa’s pursuit of joy in my own joy [and our little family’s joy] I taste it daily.

Since this weekend may be our last as a family of four, we went for a little outing to the Monte Carlo Italian Deli and Pinocchio Italian Restaurant. The kids split a spaghetti plate and we ordered a meatball pizza. What a great place.

They patiently waited for me as I lugged my camera and a tripod up and down Magnolia St. Here are a few I got from our time–

The restaurant
Messy and goofy
I think I surprised these two…
Claire with Pinocchio
On Magnolia
About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

