Breaking the slavery of custom

Earlier this month a friend recommended a book by C.H. Spurgeon called “Eccentric Preachers”. I have read a few pages and if has been compelling. In the introductory chapter there are three sentences I wanted to share that remind me that the people God uses to bring about change in the world are those most would consider eccentric.

“The slavery of custom is as hard and crushing as any other form of human bondage, and blessed is he who for the the truth’s sake disdains to wear the galling chain, preferring rather to be charged with singularity and held up to ridicule. It is clear, then, that eccentricity may in certain cases be a virtue. When it touches the moral and the spiritual it may be worthy of all honour.”

In the West a modest pursuit of anything spiritual may be viewed as something noble by cultural standards this practice lends itself to evangelical Christians contently living a modestly “Christian” life. We tend to live so that we would not be bothered. Contrast that with the Apostle Paul’s attitude.

Philippians 3:8-10
Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

May we be so eccentric.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

