Done / Pending

Done
Brothers, We Are Not Professionals by John Piper. I started this book too long ago and the majority was read on the STM to India in January but I just finished it last week. It was really helpful, particularly in pointing me toward the proper view of service to God, Acts 17:25 “nor is he served by human hands, as though he needed anything, since he himself gives to all mankind life and breath and everything.” We do not approach God with the attitude that we are adding anything to him. Piper points out the proper way to serve, found in 1 Peter 4:11, serving in the strength that God supplies so that in all things HE gets the glory, not me!

I also enjoyed the chapter titled Bitzer was a Banker.

Pending
The Mortification of Sin by John Owen (abridged and made easy to read by Richard Rushing). Part one of two in my attempt to avoid chronological snobbery, taking the advice of CS Lewis. More on this book later, but it has been enriching.

Eccentric Preachers by C.H. Spurgeon. Quick read, and quite interesting. Helpful and encouraging assessment of various eccentricpreachers. It is free if you want to read it on Google Books (which is a tad slow on iPad but has some cool features)

Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne. I am reading it with my big kids in iBooks. Free with iOS 4, i think. What great little stories. I think all of books I am actively reading are by Englishmen…

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

