Did you always believe?

My son is now four years old. He loves to play and he loves to compete (as long as he is never “it” in tag, or never loses). He usually runs instead of walks and brings intensity to mundane activities. He balances affection and aggression, some times better than other times. I think that he thinks he is his big sister’s age.

As fun as these things are, they need careful shepherding. He needs to learn to participate fully in tag, which may require being “it”. He’ll also need to learn that you may have to lose if you’re going to battle. He’ll need to learn also that there’s an appropriate time to be aggressive. I think I’ll let him learn on his own that basketball, though it is fun, will not likely be something he has a professional future in.

In our prayers for our children we try to place an emphasis on believing in Jesus. We ask God to reveal to them their need for a Savior and for a heart to believe Jesus is able to save. We ask the same thing for ourselves. On Monday evening, after Bible reading, Evan asked, “Dad, when you were a little boy did you always believe?” I told him that I didn’t always believe. I didn’t truly believe until I was 14. After I said this, he said, “Because I don’t think I believe.” We discussed why he thought he didn’t believe and I told him if he has any questions to ask them.

My heart desperately wants him to believe in Jesus. But I know I can’t make him believe. What is significant is that he admits he doesn’t believe. I knew at age 8 that I didn’t believe and that I didn’t want to. I never admitted to anyone that I didn’t believe until I was 14. He is demonstrating a maturity at age four that I didn’t have until age fourteen. We hope that one day we’ll rejoice in the new birth of our son, but for now, we are thankful to see that he knows he doesn’t have it. Praying for God’s grace.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

