On Spiders

In the sunshine of the patio at GCC yesterday I observed an intricately spun spiders web, certain damaged by the weather. I don’t think the spider minded much, I saw some remains of some bugs from past meals.

On campus there were probably thousands of people, all of them (unless they were young children) had specific intentions to be there. Even the plants and trees, someone planted with a landscape in mind. The water from the fountain was running intentionally.

Here is this little spider, enjoying a small feast on these bugs. He’ll likely meet his end by another, perhaps larger, spider. Or he’ll suffer at the end of a broom. Or because of a curious young boy’s foot. His life is short, here for a purpose and then gone.

I’m not wanting to stretch too far for this one, but here goes. I’m love understanding and learning about the sovereignty of God. This is God’s world, he creates it, he sustains it. He is the Author. But sometimes I forget the story that he’s weaving. Sometimes I think evolutionary type thoughts, thinking that God’s given the world a push in the right direction and while He controls it, He lets things go as they go. But God is not like that, He is there. He is in control.

It was God’s plan for our pastor to be on vacation this Sunday. It was God’s plan for a guest preacher to be filling the pulpit. Perhaps to the chagrin of some human guests. (I’m thankful for the pulpit-fillers and guests.) It was God’s plan to feed the spider those other insects.

I am thankful for a God who is infinite, who created galaxies that no earth-dweller will ever see. I’m thankful to worship a God who created oceans with depths so deep no instrument will ever be able to document what is there. These depths, along with that little spider exist for his glory, and we must be mindful that they are part of his story. They don’t exist for nothing.

Being in the middle of the ocean reminds you how small you are. We’re tiny in this massive world. And yet, the Creator of all of it, sacrificed His son, offering a substitute, our sin for His son’s righteousness. He not only provides for your greatest need, but He also provides for your daily needs. Don’t worry, if He takes care of the spider, how much more will He care for you? We’ll here for a purpose and then we’re gone, just like that spider.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

