Lenten thoughts

This past Wednesday marked the beginning of Lent. Part of my preparation for Easter this year is the abstinence from a few small things. The purpose (by God’s grace) is to lay aside things I like to do that I may enjoy Jesus more and in some small way use the time I might have saved in abstinence to serve others.

I don’t feel compelled to argue that you should observe Lent. But I think there is freedom to observe it found here–

Romans 14:5-6
One person esteems one day as better than another, while another esteems all days alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind. The one who observes the day, observes it in honor of the Lord. The one who eats, eats in honor of the Lord, since he gives thanks to God, while the one who abstains, abstains in honor of the Lord and gives thanks to God.

About clydeblogs
I am husband to my sweetheart Lisa, and we are parents of our sweetheart Claire Renae and the curiously cute Evan. I wish I could say that I speak a little, and think a lot, but I think I speak a lot and think less than I should.

Leave a Reply

